Airwar over Denmark

Airwar over Denmark

 By Søren C. Flensted


1939-1940 Updated 22/7-17
1941 Updated 22/10-18
1942 Updated 18/12-18
1943 Updated 7/5-19
1944 Updated 23/3-19
1945 Updated 14/2-19

1940 New 31/1-19
1941 Updated 18/10-18
1942 Updated 10/5-18
1943 Updated 22/9-18
1944 Updated 8/7-18
1945 New 31/5-18

Books  New Book by Steve Smith

Search this site by entering search words:

powered by FreeFind

Ju W 34 serial number 3073 shot down in Lille Ris moor 14/6 1944.

The aircraft belonged to 13./ Fliegerzielgeschwader 1 and was coded SD+FW.
T/o ?. Op: ?

Two Mosquito`s of RCAF (RAF) 418 Squadron were on a Day ranger mission to the German Baltic coast when they at 15:32 hours spotted a He 111 and a Ju W 34 over the south tipp of Langeland island.

One Mosquito piloted by S/L Kipp DFC and Observer F/O Huletsky DFC set after the He 111 and at 15:37 claimed it over the sea.
The other Mosquito piloted by P/O Simm and Observed P/O Sharples closed in on the Ju W 34 climbing to its height af 2500 ft. The Mosquito overshot and made a sharp turn to port and again closed in.
The W 34 was now heading north and at 15:34 an attack was made with a 1 second burst.
Pieces were knocked off and the W 34 caught fire and dived from 1500 ft and crashed in the Lille Ris Mose moor on the island of Ærø blowing up on impact.
When the Mosquito passed underneath the W 34 after the attack Observer P/O Sharples noticed a very pained expression on the face of one of the occupants of the W 34.

The W 34 was destroyed and the crew of Pilot Oberfähnrich Walter Schwarting, Wop Feldwebel Peter Heinrich Gustav Krüger and Flt Engr. Unteroffizier Wilhelm Hess died.
Farmer Rasmussen, his son Peter and a farm hand collected the human remains and placed them on a truck that took them to the chapel of Store Rise church.
It is not known where they rest today.

The German Wehrmacht removed the wreckage and on 22/6 all had been removed.


Sources: LBUK, AD, AIR 27/1821, AIR 50/145, JJ.



Back to 1944

Top of page
Top of page


  Copyright  ©  Søren C. Flensted 2004 - 2019